Home: Help: Files & File Groups

Saving files & creating file groups

Neatly gives you one location for saving files stored in Google Drive, Dropbox, other cloud storage platforms or from the web.

Neatly-upload-options

How are files saved?

Neatly does not actually save files, it saves links to files stored elsewhere, like Google Drive or Dropbox.

This is done for two reasons:

  1. Security – Companies like Google and Dropbox have excellent security and multiple backups of your files.
  2. Flexibility – We don’t believe in forcing our customers to be locked-in to using our service by making them store all of their files with us.

You can use Neatly as the one place to find all of your important shared files and web pages, regardless of the storage platform.

Files vs. File Groups

There are two ways to save links to your files: Files and File Groups

A “file” is simply a link to an individual file. Simply click on the add file button to add one from either Google Drive, your computer or the web.

add file blank section
The “Add file” button is displayed in an empty section


add file section
The “Add More Files” button is displayed at the bottom of the section when other files have been uploaded already

File groups

A “file group” allows you to group several similar files together. This comes in handy when you have different variations of a file.

Some example file groups:

You can create a group by clicking the file group buttons shown in the two images above (“Add more files” shows a drop-down to create a file group when clicked). You can also turn a file into a file group by clicking on the right menu (“…”) and choosing the link there.

change to file group

You can then create a file group, give it a name and add individual files to it.

View & Edit Permissions

When inviting or sharing categories or files, you can decide whether to grant another user viewing or editing permission.

Viewing permission

Anyone who has viewing permission for a category can see which files or file groups are in the category and open every file.

Editing permission

A category editor can upload, update and edit any files within a category. An editor can also invite other users to view or edit their category.

Roles

Admin

Editor

User

Adding Files

Neatly stores links to files saved anywhere on the web or shareable cloud storage platforms (Google Drive, Dropbox, Airtable, Box, etc.).

add a file

Ways to add a file

Create a new Google Drive file: You can create a new file and automatically save it to a Neatly category and section. You can do so by clicking on one of the buttons in the “Create new” row (Google Doc, Sheet or Slide).

Add a file from Google Drive: Clicking on the Google Drive button allows you to search your Google Drive for files to add to Neatly.

Upload a file from your computer: Clicking on the upload link allows you to add a new file to Neatly. This file will also be saved in your Google Drive account.

Add a link to a file: You can add any link you like, such as shareable links from other storage platforms like Dropbox or web urls.

File names & descriptions

When adding files or file groups, you have the option to add or change file names and descriptions.

file names and groups names

Changing a file name

Click in the field for the file name, add your new name and click on the blue check mark to approve. Changing a file name will also change the name of the file in Google Drive.

When creating a new Google Drive file (doc, sheet or slide) the file will be saved in Neatly as “Untitled document” by default. You will need to manually update the file name in Neatly.

Adding a file description

Click in the field for the description and add your text.

It’s important to add good descriptions to ensure that teammates don’t have to guess as to the content of a file or file group.

Deleting files

When you choose to remove a category, section, file or file group, the files will be removed from Neatly, but they will not be deleted from their source (i.e. Google Drive).

To delete a file or file group, click on the right menu (“…”) and choose remove file from the drop down. Then just confirm.

If you remove a file, section or category, it cannot be reversed – you’ll need to re-add it manually.